Seedlings of an Artist

As a visual artist I am self trained and have a love for cartoons, graffiti, typography, and abstract paintings which have geared me towards the avant-garde taste in performance art.  I have trained as an actor and have been involved in the audition circle.  I also trained in improv comedy and tried stand-up comedy back in 1991, I went as far as to work with a comedy troupe called El Barrio USA with the well-known comic, Angel Salazar (Chi Chi from Scarface.) The experience with El Barrio USA lasted for two glorious years that were filled with plenty of growth within production and creative work which re-affirmed my belief that my work belonged on stage.  I went on to produce my own work and that was a few more years of trial and tribulations, culminating to co-producing, “Spotlight,” a one time cabaret show in September 2000 over at the Como Coco space in the Clemente Soto Velez Cultural Center.  Immediately following that show I produced my first group art exhibition/AIDS fundraiser,  “Alchemist.”  In both of these shows I created spontaneous performance art pieces. The Alchemist exhibit was my first experience with acquiring an in-kind sponsor with Urban Latino Magazine. After this experience I came across the New York International Latino Film Festival and that has been 13 phenomenal years of growth in the Entertainment business.  After all this I still hold on to my first love which is drawing and painting.  Throughout this journey in changing from one discipline of art to another, the fear of the unknown was ever present and it served me as fuel to continue to venture and grow.  What’s your artist seedling?
Here’s a short film based on the great art of sign painters, 
Later on I will post an interview that I had with a musician and his take on the artistic process.
Leave a Reply

